“Garden Princess”

I crowned my Little Darling, Gina, the garden princess.  Her grace never fails to shine through on the thousands of photos I’ve taken of her over the years.  She’s a beauty, my oldest, and I am happy she’s a part of my ever growing Little Darling family.

Here she is modeling her new ensemble called “Garden Princess”.

garden princess 530

I love the violet-y pink shades in these two fabrics from the same collection.  The border print is the same design as “Beauty in Blue” made for my Kaye Wiggs Gracie.  The print has a totally different feel when done without the leaves and stems in green, doesn’t it?  I like them both, though, no preference.

garden princess 582

I didn’t have the right shade of pink, so I knit Gina’s sweater in white mohair/silk then hand dyed it in a very, very light rosy pink dye bath.  I think it dyed to the perfect shade and created a nice background for the embroidery.

garden princess 572

Here’s a close up of the embroidery.

garden princess 485

The accessories all came together perfectly for this ensemble.

garden princess 617

garden princess 500

garden princess 535

Gina has a bouquet put together just for you.  It features baby’s breath, tiny off white blossoms, and a cool pink rose blossom.  She tied her bouquet together with a bit of lace and pearl trim.

garden princess 550

“Garden Princess” will be available tonight (July 6, 2016) at 7:00 pm CST at cindyricedesigns.com.  Look for more information under the “Shop What’s New” tab at 7:00 pm.

8 thoughts on ““Garden Princess”

  1. Joy

    And Garden Princess she is! A summer garden party outfit for sure. I really like the larger border print mixed with the smaller. Makes for a wonderful new look. Love the pink pearl buttons on the perfect pink sweater and on the adorable petite summer shoes. I’m working on a pair or tiny sandals for Ten Ping and Jar Lu. Not crocheted, I wish, but foam, glue, and decorative ribbon. Their feet are so tiny!

    Reply
    1. Cindy Rice Post author

      Hi Joy,
      Thank you for your sweet comments. I’ve finally been able to use these rosy pink pearl buttons, was wondering if I’d ever have the right shade of pink. I had to dye it, but I got it. 🙂 Good luck with your tiny shoes. They sound sticky tricky. I am not good with gluing fabric, always gets too messy, nothing seems to stick. I opt for needle and thread whenever possible. Would love to see your little shoes when you’re finished.

      Reply
  2. Catherine

    What a beautiful dress! I love the two fabrics! Gina is really a princess!
    I hope you are well. Have a good afternoon!
    Warm regards.
    Catherine

    Reply
    1. Cindy Rice Post author

      I am well, thank you. I hope you are too, Catherine. Thank you for the compliments on Gina’s new dress; she has loved modeling it for me. Since it is being sent away to dress another Little Darling, Gina is looking forward to her next new outfit that I make for her. She hopes it is soon. Hope you are having a nice day all the way in France!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

