“Pastel Sweetie” for Penny

My new Penny by Linda Macario has her very own mohair/silk cardigan…finally.  This sweater pattern took me four tries to get it just right.

pastel sweetie  138

I finished her little dress in December.  I thought that the dress pattern would take a few tries, but I got lucky.  Her fingers are spread open with skinny upper arms.  I was thinking big armholes to get those hands through… not so attractive.  I thought it would be a challenge, but like I said, I got lucky.

I also wanted the bodice short so as not to look long waisted as she has shorter legs (so, shorter skirt).  I think I got the proportions right.  She told me, “I feel pretty.”

pastel sweetie 179

pastel sweetie 161

I enjoy dressing a new doll.  I find the challenges of a new body style fun to conquer.  Penny probably has the most unique body to date in my collection, but she is precious.

pastel sweetie 173

As with most of my dolls lately, Penny has picked a few blossoms for her basket and to give to you.  What a sweetheart!

I made Penny’s little crocheted centifolia (cabbage) rose with a tie so she could wear it on her cap or in her hair.

pastel sweetie 153

pastel sweetie 148

And, once again, here is Penny in her other wigs.  If you missed the posts about her wigs they are here and here.

pastel sweetie 198

pastel sweetie 194

pastel sweetie 283

For more information on Penny’s “Pastel Sweetie” ensemble, please visit my “Shop What’s New” page at cindyricedesigns.com.

 

7 thoughts on ““Pastel Sweetie” for Penny

  1. Donna

    You make the sweetest items. Don’t know where you find the time. They are all so lovely. You can tell you love what you do. Hope it is contagious so I can catch it. Would love to make such cute sweaters n things for friends n grandchildren. Blessings to you and yours.

    Reply
    1. Cindy Rice Post author

      Hi Donna,
      Thanks so much. I guess the best advice I can give you about finding the time for being creative is to schedule it, even if it is a short block of time. These short blocks of time add up and you may find that you can fit in more time than you think. Creating is also great for mind, spirit, and health!

      Reply
  2. Joy

    Penny is so sweet. Just love her look and her outfit. Amazingly fetching in all of her special wigs.
    Just a tidbit. My grandfather attended the Chicago School of Design in the early 1900’s. He was a window designer. I have a photo of one of his windows done here in CA after he moved here from Iowa to marry my grandmother. xxoo

    Reply
    1. Cindy Rice Post author

      Thank you, Joy. That’s a neat fact about your grandfather. My first job (in high school) was working at a local dress shop, very small. To keep from getting bored when it was slow, I would redo the windows. Sometimes they would get changed weekly! I remember that task as being very creative and enjoyable. Thanks for sharing.

      Reply

Leave a comment