Another Springtime Sweater Dress for the Little Darlings

I loved the last sweater dress that I made for the Little Darlings so much that I immediately started on another one.  This one is in pink and also has 10,000+ stitches.

As I was working on the embroidery for this dress I felt as if I were drawing (or painting) with a needle and thread.  The first half of the top motif and the first half of the waistline motif (the second half is mirrored) went bit by bit as I was trying to achieve good color balance and a pleasing floral composition.  Sometimes my motifs take longer to work out and this one did indeed take longer.

The embroidery may have been painstaking, but I am very pleased with the end result.  The motifs are feminine, colorful, balanced and flow smoothly along the waistline, so mission accomplished.

so pretty in pink 265

so pretty in pink 276

so pretty in pink 267so pretty in pink 261For more information on Gina’s “So Pretty in Pink” sweater dress ensemble please visit my “Available for Sale” page on cindyricedesigns.com .

7 thoughts on “Another Springtime Sweater Dress for the Little Darlings

    1. Cindy Rice Post author

      Hi Vicki. Thanks so much. The hair braid is a crochet chain made with very fine thread and hook. I’ve found that it doesn’t knot, and stays in a bow nicely. It is the perfect thing for tying in hair decorations.

      Reply
  1. Catherine

    Beautiful, but already sold!!
    I would like to buy the same curly wig for my LD, does it come from Monique store?
    Have a good day!
    Warm regards.

    Reply
  2. Jeanne

    HI Cindy,
    I put a few comments on this dress the other day, but I don’t see them now… I’ll redo them.
    This dress is too pretty to pass up some compliments to you! It is magnificent! I love the way
    you can let your eyes follow your knitting down the front of Gina’s dress. Your knitting is SO perfect, it’s like a machine did it! I love the way you mirror imaged your embroidery around her waist. It looks so delicate! Very sweet!
    Blessings, Jeanne

    Reply
  3. Cindy Rice Post author

    Thanks so much, Jeanne. I was wondering if embroidering mirrored images is harder or making new compositions that “work” and I couldn’t decide. Both are tedious in their own way. I do know that I breathe a sigh of relief when both are complete and I am happy with the result. I get the most enjoyment from my work when I see these knit dresses on Gina, but they take a lot and take awhile…

    Reply
  4. Pingback: A New Knit Dress Ensemble for the Little Darlings | Cindy Rice Designs

Leave a Reply

