Mid Winter Floral Imagining

It’s no surprise that I LOVE flowers, right?  I embroider them on my doll clothes and gravitate towards floral fabrics.  Even when I designed cross stitch patterns my patterns were of flowers.

From when I was very young I loved flowers and there are even photos to prove it.  Here are two pictures of me smelling the roses (or trying to).  You’ll notice in one picture I have a death grip on my Barbie doll.  Yes, my passions started young.

1962 cindy

1964 06 In the middle of winter when I would love to meander through a garden it helps me to look at photos of gardens (Pinterest is great for this) or simply create my own flowers with embroidery thread.  It is easy to imagine the sweet scent of the roses I am creating.

Amelia Thimble has a little dress and hat set to show you today.  It is sprinkled with softly colored embroidered pastel flowers.

pastel blossoms 571

pastel blossoms 573

pastel blossoms 590

Amelia wants to know if you can smell the flowers too.

pastel blossoms 582

For more information on Amelia Thimble’s “Pastel Blossoms” set please visit the “Available for Sale” page on cindyricedesigns.com .

12 thoughts on “Mid Winter Floral Imagining

  1. diane

    Me too. I love flowers all year around. In the winter I used to like to make Flower Quilts to satisfy my need to work in my flower garden. Now, crocheting flowers is my addiction.

    Reply
    1. Cindy Rice Post author

      Hi Diane. I’m glad you found a way to get your “flower garden fix” too. It really helps to remind us of what’s to come in a few months. Thanks for your comment. So nice to hear from you. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Cindy Rice Post author

      Kathy,
      It is best to send the contact form via my website which goes to my email. 7:00 pm CST is always the time that something new will be on my website if I have new things that day. Sometimes I will give a sneak preview on my Facebook page too. Sorry you misses it.

      Reply
  2. Catherine

    Hi!
    You were an adorable little girl! Congratulations for your beautiful sets, I love them all!
    Best regards from France.
    Catherine

    Reply
  3. Our Handmade House

    What a wonderful post! I love how your childhood passion for flowers and dolls carries into the beautiful work you do today!

    Reply
    1. Cindy Rice Post author

      Hi Heather and thank you. When I think about it I am truly amazed that those little things that I was enthralled with as a very young child were precursors to what I became passionate about as an adult.

      Reply
  4. Jeanne

    Hi Cindy,
    What a sweet little blonde headed girl you were! When you were little, it looks like your hair might have matched Amelia’s! What a very cute post! It looks like there needs to be two of you to keep up with the demand for dresses!
    Nice to see you in your younger days…and loved the Barbie grip!
    Blessings, Jeanne

    Reply
  5. Cindy Rice Post author

    Hi Jeanne, All of us kids took after our dad and are blondes. My brother and one sister were even lighter blonde than I was. I didn’t notice it at the time, but my hairstyle and Amelia’s look pretty close. Funny! I got Barbie at 3 years old and you can tell I was crazy about her. I had lots of dolls, but I think Barbie was my favorite. BTW, some of those dresses were made throughout last year and I was doing lots of knitting over Christmas break. I am not that quick, though I wish I was.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

